Honoring the Best of 2010

Celebrate journalism at gala awards banquet

By Deanna Darr

Idaho Press Club members can join in the celebration of some of the best journalism to come out of the state last year at the Best of 2010 Annual Awards Banquet on Saturday, May 7.

This annual event is one of the ways the Press Club works to support and improve journalism—by recognizing and awarding excellent work in both print and broadcast journalism, as well as in public relations. It’s also a great time to celebrate our profession by gathering with others from across the state.

The banquet will once again be held in the Boise Centre, in the middle of downtown Boise. It will begin at 6 p.m. with a social hour with the program and dinner beginning at 7 p.m.  In addition to honoring all of our award and scholarship winners, there will be a few laughs and some hearty celebrating.

Plan to get to the event nice and early to hear one of Boise’s favorite bands, Hillfolk Noir, which will be performing during the social hour beginning at 6 p.m.

For dinner this year, those who attend can choose between a basil and pine nut crusted chicken breast served with St. Maries wild rice and sun dried tomato beurre blanc, a grilled top sirloin with a brandy black peppercorn sauce and served with Ballard Family Farms white cheddar mashed potatoes or butternut squash ravioli with fresh spinach and sun dried tomato sauce.   In a new feature, you’ll also be able to order wine by the bottle at your table; there also will be two bars.

Please consider attending regardless of if you’re nominated for an award. Bring a date, your co-workers or your fans and join us for an evening celebrating journalism.

Prices for the banquet are the same as last year—$35 for members or $40 for non-members. You can pre-register by either sending in the form included in this newsletter, or save yourself a stamp and do it online through the Press Club website at idahopressclub.org.

Deanna Darr is the features editor of the Boise Weekly, and is a member of the Idaho Press Club state board.