IPC mid-career and student scholarship applications are now being accepted

Deadline is Feb. 15

By Joan Cartan-Hansen

Have a great idea for a story and no funds to get it to print or on the air? Need money for professional training?  Apply for the Idaho Press Club’s Don Watkins Mid-Career Scholarship.

The Mid-Career Scholarship awards $500 for any Idaho Press Club member to use for any training or project that will improve the working press in Idaho. The only catch: You must share what you learn with Press Club members through a discussion at a conference or an article in an upcoming edition of the Communicator. Any Press Club member is eligible for this scholarship.

To apply, send your resume and a proposal for how you would spend the money to us via e-mail to email@idahopressclub.org. Applications are due February 15 of each year. The winner will be announced as part of the Press Club’s annual awards program in April. 

The Idaho Press Club offers scholarships for college students too. Graduates of Idaho high schools who have completed at least one year of college and wish to pursue a career in journalism or communications are eligible for the Don Watkins Memorial Scholarship of up to $1,500. Full-time students majoring in journalism or working for a college or professional media outlet are also eligible to apply.

If interested, submit a one-page resume; a 500-word essay explaining your interest in a journalism or communications career; samples of your journalistic work, whether published or unpublished; and a copy of your transcripts, including GPA, through the most recent fall term. Applications may be submitted electronically via email to email@idahopressclub.org. If you have video files, please upload them to YouTube or a similar site and send the link.  The deadline is also February 15th.

For more information about either scholarship, call IPC Executive Director Martha Borchers at (208) 389-2879, or contact her by e-mail at email@idahopressclub.org.

Joan Cartan-Hansen is a producer, reporter, writer and host at Idaho Public Television, and is a board member of the Idaho Press Club who also chairs our Scholarship Committee.